Led by Abigail Dimon, Seventeen Tramps and Trailers hiked from the Elm St. entrance of Roscoe Conkling Park (Utica) west to Third St. (now Valley View Rd.) and on to Cascade Glen.
In the early years of the club they often started via Trolley from Union Station. The first canoe trip was in Old Forge in 1923. The club added skiing and snowshoeing in 1971. In more recent years kayaking was added to the mix.
They have conducted over 6,000 official weekend hikes as well as countless interesting evenings, overnight trips and social events. The club is still active today with hikes happening every weekend, regardless of the weather.
In celebration of the 100th anniversary of the Tramp and Trail Club, the Oneida County History Center has announced Tramps and Trails, an exhibit featuring artifacts, photos, and scrapbooks from the club’s rich history.
Tramps and Trails is on display through July 30, 2021. Admission to the exhibit gallery is free with a suggested donation of $5.
The Oneida County History Center is located at 1608 Genesee Street, Utica. For more information call (315) 735-3642 or visit their website.
Photo of Tramp and Trail Club camping in the 1950s provided.