Hanford Mills Museum is set to open for for guided tours of its water-powered sawmill, gristmill, and woodworking shop on August 12th. Tours will be offered Wednesdays through Sundays and feature demonstrations of the 1926 Fitz overshot waterwheel and water-powered machines operating just as they did a century ago.
Hanford Mills is offering a Welcome Back week for Museum Members beginning August 5th. Four tours are available to reserve each day at 10 am, 11:30 am, 1 pm, and 2:30 pm.
After the guided tour, which lasts about an hour, visitors can tour the Feed Mill and view a video on the history of Hanford Mills and the exhibit “Today’s Schedule Did Not Go According to Plan,” which recounts the decades of preservation and maintenance work done at Hanford Mills.
Other historic buildings on site, including the John Hanford Farmhouse, are closed, but visitors can explore the Museum site and view the buildings from the outside. The Learning Lab, which houses hands-on activities for children, and the Museum Store are closed.
All tours must be reserved in advance by calling (607) 278-5744. Hanford Mills is located at 51 County Highway 12 in East Meredith, at the intersection of Delaware County Routes 10 & 12, just 10 miles from Oneonta, and 15 miles from Delhi. For more information, visit their website.
Photo of 1913 water-powerd Hemance moulder at Hanford Mills provided.