Staatsburgh State Historic Site has announced a guided tour with Staatsburgh’s Curator Dr. Maria Reynolds has been set for Saturday, September 15th at 1 pm.
The tour, “A Closer Look: A Curator-Guided Exploration of the Hidden & Hard-to-See” will focus on some of the most interesting items in Staatsburgh’s collection. It will include stories about the paintings, furniture, and objects that are hard to see and often unnoticed while touring the house.
The tour will also highlight a selection of artifacts from collections storage that are not usually on display in the mansion. Visitors interested in the behind-the-scenes operation of a historic site will learn about collections care and management. After the tour, visitors may wish to stroll the estate grounds or picnic along the Hudson River.
Reservations are required and can be made by calling (845) 889-8851. The charge for the tour is $10; $8 for seniors and students; children 12 and under are free. “A Closer Look” will be offered again on Sunday, October 14 at 1 pm.
Staatsburgh was the home of prominent social hostess Ruth Livingston Mills and her husband, financer Ogden Mills. The 79-room mansion on the Hudson River showcases the opulent lifestyle enjoyed by the wealthy elite of the early 20th century. The house was remodeled by the famous architect Stanford White in 1895 and decorated in the styles of 17th and 18th century France.
Staatsburgh State Historic Site and the Ogden Mills & Ruth Livingston Mills Memorial State Park are located on Old Post Road in Staatsburg, off Route 9 between Rhinebeck and Hyde Park. The historic site is one of 6 sites and 15 parks administered by the Taconic Region of New York State Office of Parks, Recreation and Historic Preservation. For more information, call (845) 889-8851, or visit Staatsburgh’s website.
Photo of Staatsburgh’s curator tour provided.