A new exhibit, “100 Years of Photographs from Morris Studio: 1892-1992” is set open on Saturday, August 18th at Rogers Mansion, 17 Meeting House Lane, Southampton, NY. A free opening reception will be held from 4 to 6 pm, refreshments will be served.
This exhibit presents the rich history of the South Fork on Long Island through the historic archives from The Morris Studio. The photographs date as far back as 1892. Tough The Morris Studio closed its doors in 2017 the photographs show a long lost era of time to be presented over 100 years later. Among the photographs are local historic landmarks and portraits of local families.
Curator Mary Godfrey worked for several years at the locally well-known Morris Studio until it closed in 2017. George W. Morris opened the Studio on Main Street, Southampton in 1892. His son Doug sold the business to Jim Thomason whose son Neal took over the business in 2014. Neal reluctantly had to sell Morris Studio last year. Mary began as an intern almost 20 years ago and opened her own photography and frame shop on Jobs Lane after the Studio closed in 2017. She and Neal Thomason are archiving the historic collection of over 5,000 negatives, many of which are mounted on glass, and plan on publishing a coffee table size book this fall.
The exhibit will run from August 18, 2018 to August 2019, Wednesdays to Saturdays, 11 am to 4 pm. Admission is $4, free for Members and Children 17 & under.
Photo of Shinnecock at Fellingham’s 4th of July parade c 1930 provided by Southampton Historical Museum.